top of page

Sudie Shows How Being Authentic is Powerful


Authentic. A word so simple yet so hard to find in people nowadays. A word that we all at one point or another struggle to find within ourselves. "Who am I?", once again a question so simple yet oftentimes returns such a complex answer. For some people this question may never be answered, for others it may take years even decades to be comfortable enough to answer, yet for Sudie this question was answered very early on in life.


Ever since she could remember Sudie knew that music was going to play a big role in her life. As a child Sudie didn’t talk she sang. She describes her attraction and desire to play the piano as almost “magnetic-like”, like she was born to play it. As the years went by, not only did her love for creating music grow, but so did her talent. Now as a young woman, Sudie is a prominent figure in the Dallas music scene and doesn’t show signs of slowing down. Her unique sound along with her being comfortable in her own skin is what draws people to her. She knows who she is, what she can do, and how she wants to do it. She’s unapologetically herself. She’s authentic. We recently sat down to talk with Sudie, here is what she had to say.


Tell us a little about yourself and what made you want to start making music.


I moved a lot growing up. My dad was a pilot so we didn’t stay in one place for more than 4 years. I was here in Texas in my earlier years so I started off by singing and performing country music. Then we moved to Atlanta and I got introduced to a lot more R&B and soul. I also joined a jazz band so I started singing jazz a lot, all the while I was in choir in school and I did show choir.


Then moving to Dubai was like the first time I got really introduced into house, techno and dance music, of course while also getting introduced to a lot more world music. Then I came to college here at SMU and studied Opera and that was also mind opening. So I think the important thing is that anywhere where I would go I would try to be involved in as many creative outlets as possible whether that was choir, musicals, theater, or just singing.


Where did your love for playing the piano come from?


Well we had a piano in my house as far back as I can remember. It pretty much feels like the keys and your fingertips are magnetic, like you can’t not play a piano if it’s in front of you. Even though I wasn’t training at that young age I still liked playing around on it. It’s like an addiction.


What attracted you to the style of music you have now as opposed to other styles or genres?


I wouldn’t say that my style is opposed to other genres just because I’m influenced by so much and I let that flow in and out of different songs that need certain vibes from all over the spectrum. I think the reason why it’s unique is because it takes from a lot of different genres and styles.


How do you approach making a new song?


It’s different every time, it just depends on what the inspiration comes from

.

What's your favorite place to perform?


I don’t know, it depends. As long as there’s good sound I’m happy.


Was there ever a time were you doubted yourself and how do you deal with that?


I know I’ll live with music and creativity for the rest of my life I don’t doubt that in any way, but "making it" is that passion mixed with business, career, and success. So that’s a little bit of something else. It’s a lot of moving parts to juggle and you never know what the future holds so choosing to take a career path in creativity is hard and it’s scary sometimes. But, at the same time choosing a career in something that makes me a lot of money but doesn’t necessarily give me an outlet to express myself is just as hard or even harder for me to live like that.



Björk is someone you’ve said really helped you become the artist you are today, what are some ways she’s done that?


I remember the first time I saw Björk, I was really young I was with my mom and I just remember my mom say “That artist is so weird". That immediately made me want to listen to her and find her music. She was one of the first solo female artists that I saw as completely and freely expressive and I thought what an incredible thing to experience with your creativity just to be like ‘fuck it, I’m just going to do whatever I feel like doing’. It didn’t feel like she put any boundaries on her self-expression. As humans I feel that it’s so important to consciously use your creativity without boundaries.


What moment changed the game for you?


I don’t have one. I don’t feel like I’m in a game and there’s a stopping point where I win some big prize. My life will always will be involved in and have creativity.


How did it feel when you made Hypebeast's "Women of Tomorrow" playlist?


I was super stoked. I couldn’t be more thankful that I could be recognized on a platform that I admire and that so many people admire as well.


How do you hope your sound and story inspires future generations of artists?


There’s a lot of pressure when you’re a female artist to be, look, and act a certain way, so I think it’s really important to know that you don’t need to do something you don’t feel is you.

 

Follow Sudie on Instagram: @sudiemusic and make sure to check her out on all major music streaming platforms and on YouTube.


bottom of page